24-team Stanley Cup matchups confirmed


Find out the latest on COVID-19’s impact on the sports world and when sports are returning by subscribing to Breaking News push notifications in the Sports and COVID-19 section.

NHL commissioner Gary Bettman confirmed Tuesday that the NHL will stage a 24-team playoff split by conference between two hub cities, with timelines and locations to be finalized at a later date.

The top four seeds in each conference will get byes, while seeds 5-12 will battle in best-of-five series to determine who advances. The NHL and NHLPA have yet to decide whether teams will be reseeded or if the postseason will use a bracket format.

The matchups are based on points percentage in conference standings through games played until March 12. Teams with byes will all play each other once under regular-season rules to determine their seeding in the next round.

Here’s a look at how it breaks down.

Eastern Conference
Byes: (No. 1) Boston Bruins, (No. 2) Tampa Bay Lightning, (No. 3) Washington Capitals, (No. 4) Philadelphia Flyers

No. 5 Pittsburgh Penguins vs. No. 12 Montreal Canadiens
No. 6 Carolina Hurricanes vs. No. 11 New York Rangers
No. 7 New York Islanders vs. No. 10 Florida Panthers
No. 8 Toronto Maple Leafs vs. No. 9 Columbus Blue Jackets
Western Conference
Byes: (No. 1) St. Louis Blues, (No. 2) Colorado Avalanche, (No. 3) Vegas Golden Knights, (No. 4) Dallas Stars

No. 5 Edmonton Oilers vs. No. 12 Chicago Blackhawks
No. 6 Nashville Predators vs. No. 11 Arizona Coyotes
No. 7 Vancouver Canucks vs. No. 10 Minnesota Wild
No. 8 Calgary Flames vs. No. 9 Winnipeg Jets

  • Fbsbswemo

    December 26, 2020 at 2:35 am Reply

    where to buy cialis soft tabs cialis no prescription canada cheapest cialis from india

  • Fbsbswemo

    December 27, 2020 at 10:29 pm Reply

    on line cialis cialis dapoxetine australia

  • VkSBpInFJmZUrR

    January 7, 2021 at 8:25 pm Reply


  • bedava

    January 12, 2021 at 7:43 pm Reply

    Very good blog article. Really thank you! Really Cool. Lenna Kendell Harbird

  • 720p

    January 13, 2021 at 12:30 am Reply

    Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your posts. Idelle Vergil Vada

  • filmi izle

    January 13, 2021 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Good article! We are linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the great writing. Cassie Aurthur Chirlin

  • filmi izle

    January 14, 2021 at 4:04 am Reply

    Hi, constantly i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the daylight, because i love to learn more and more. Natka Tristan Johm

  • full hd tek parça izle

    January 17, 2021 at 2:21 am Reply

    Hello mates, its enormous piece of writing about educationand entirely explained, keep it up all the time. Glyn Isaak Kathryne

  • izle

    January 17, 2021 at 10:13 pm Reply

    Hi there mates, nice paragraph and pleasant urging commented here, I am actually enjoying by these. Chelsea Massimiliano Pratt

  • hd film izle

    January 18, 2021 at 2:07 am Reply

    Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, thanks . “The fox knows many things, but the hedgehog knows one big thing.” by Archilocus. Stephine Shane Tonie

  • filmi izle

    January 18, 2021 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Hi, this weekend is nice for me, since this occasion i am reading this impressive informative article here at my house. Arlie Chadd Brezin

  • sex porn

    January 21, 2021 at 4:14 pm Reply

    I consider something genuinely interesting about your blog so I saved to bookmarks . Stesha Henri Rand

  • cBsDoWdZvRC

    January 22, 2021 at 8:57 pm Reply


  • yabanci

    January 29, 2021 at 7:40 pm Reply

    Usually posts some very intriguing stuff like this. If youre new to this site. Esma Issiah Tabbatha

  • movie online

    January 30, 2021 at 1:26 pm Reply

    I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and reporting! Arleta Allayne Gert

  • altyazili

    January 30, 2021 at 2:36 pm Reply

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was once a enjoyment account it. Glance advanced to more brought agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?| Melina Enoch Dorwin

  • watch

    January 30, 2021 at 7:12 pm Reply

    For instance, if you are posting about a trade show in your niche, add a Youtube video of the event so that people can experience it more directly. Page Claudio Hayden

  • 123movies

    January 30, 2021 at 10:39 pm Reply

    You have made some good points there. I looked on the net for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.| Hatty Llywellyn Thynne

  • watch

    January 31, 2021 at 3:16 am Reply

    This is a very nice post. Thankyou exchange for posting this amazing article. Kipp Ignacio Whiney

  • dublaj

    January 31, 2021 at 6:51 am Reply

    Thanks so much for the blog. Much thanks again. Want more. Anne Sigismund Jaye

Post a Comment

Subscribe Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team